Which countries did the Nazis occupy?

The Map highlights the key countries occupied by the Nazis. 

(Run your mouse over the map to reveal the dates of invasion or occupation)

On 12 March 1938 the Nazis marched into Austria. Later that year they took the Sudetenland, then a part of Czechoslovakia. On 15 March 1939 the German army invaded the rest of Czechoslovakia. This brought over half a million Jews under German control.

On 28 August 1939, the two bitter ideological opponents, the Nazis and the Soviets concluded a non-aggression pact. Germany would invade Poland from the west and the Soviets from the east.

The German invasion of Western Poland on 1 September 1939 led to the start of the Second World War (WW2).

Between 1939 and June 1941 the German army invaded and occupied many countries, including the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, France, Denmark, Yugoslavia, Greece and Norway. By this time many millions of Jews were living in territories under German control.

Then, on 22 June 1941, Hitler broke the pact with the Soviet Union and the German Army invaded.

The map above highlights the countries invaded by the Nazis.