The Torah

The Torah is the most important Jewish book. It refers to the first five books of the Bible. These five books are: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy. Religious Jews regard the books of the Torah as the word of God Himself, as dictated by the Almighty to the great prophet Moses.

The five books of the Torah contain the early history of the Jews; rules as to how Jews should live a moral life and conduct themselves in every way.


In the video Joel from BBC's Blue Peter went to visit a scribe, someone who writes and repairs the Torah. Watch the video and learn more about the Torah.